ISSI Student Travel Award

The goal of the International Society for Scientometrics and Informetrics (ISSI) Student Travel Award is to facilitate the participation of a diverse student population in the meetings of ISSI.

Eligibility. At the time of application, the student must be enrolled in an academic program. The student must also have submitted a paper to the ISSI conference and should provide the paper submission number as part of the application. 

Application. The student should submit a short statement (no more than 1000 words) detailing their interest in the field and the value they anticipate deriving from attendance of the ISSI conference. The student should also submit one letter of recommendation and a current CV/resume. 

Selection. Several factors will be taken into consideration in the evaluation, focusing primarily on the mutual benefits to be derived for both the student and the society as well as the individual merit of the student. Geographic diversity will be considered in the selection process. The evaluation committee will consist of a subcommittee of no more than four individuals, with one ISSI Board member serving as Chair. The Board will select at least one and no more than three individuals for awards in years where a physical conference is held, depending on the applicant pool, location of the conference, and financial resources available. The board may choose to select more awardees for a virtual conference. 

Submission deadline. Applications should be emailed to Kevin Boyack by February 15, 2021. 

Notification. Awardees will be notified on or around March 30, 2021. 

Award. Given that the 2021 ISSI conference will be held online, there will not be any travel. With no associated travel costs, the 2021 ISSI student travel award will instead provide a waiver of registration fee(s). Up to ten individuals will be awarded. The ISSI Board has decided to retain the name of this award for continuity reasons. Awardees will be announced at the conference and also asked to contribute a picture and short bio (including current educational status and research interests) that will be profiled on the ISSI blog.

Previous awardees
  • Ana Teresa Santos, ISCTE, University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Beibei Sun, Wuhan University, China
  • Chenyue Jiao, Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Clara Boothby, Indiana University, USA
  • Diego Kozlowski, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  • Francesca Apponi, University of Rome, Italy
  • Haihua Chen, University of North Texas, USA
  • Joel Fuchs, Bergische Universität Wuppertal, Germany
  • Kamal Kaushik, IIT Patna, India
  • Ling Li, Beijing University of Technology, China
  • Mengjia Wu, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia
  • Mousumi Karmakar, Banaras Hindu University, India
  • Ruheyan Nuermaimaiti, University of Leeds, UK
  • Shiyan Tang, University College London, UK
  • Tausif Bordoloi, University of Manchester, UK
  • Xinyi Zhao, Max Planck Institute, Germany
  • Yahui Wei, Wuhan University, China
  • Arezoo Didegah, Yazd University, Iran
  • Kai Li, Drexel University, USA
  • Antonia D. Gogoglou, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
  • Dirce Maria Santin, Universidade Federale do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
  • Shenmeng Xu, University of North Carolina, USA

Join our society

Become a member         Subscribe to our mailing list