Awards and recognition

ISSI provides several awards to recognize and cultivate exemplary achievements in the quantitative study of science. The highest award in the field is the Derek de Solla Price Memorial Medal, a lifetime achievement award given under the auspices of the journal Scientometrics and presented at the biennial ISSI conference. Annually, the ISSI Paper of the Year Award is conferred, to stimulate the dissemination of high quality research. Doctoral student contributions are recognized by the Eugene Garfield Doctoral Dissertation Award, given in conjunction with the binennual meeting. To encourage the most junior members of our society, the ISSI Student Travel Award provides funds to attend the biennial meetings. These awards serve to foster excellence in the field—from junior to senior ranks—and are a benefit of ISSI membership.